Databases
The scientific journals of Akadémiai Kiadó can be found with the full text though our online journals catalog.
This database provides full text access to newspapers, scientific journals, books and reference works.
AMBOSS is an interactive library of over 20,000 medical topics interlinked with a Question Bank with nearly 5,000 clinical case-based questions. With all the necessary resources in one place, AMBOSS delivers up-to-date medical knowledge to students, physicians, and faculty around the world.
License code to the platform can be requested at the following link:
https://lib.semmelweis.hu/amboss_registration
To register with the license code, please follow the url below:
English platform
German platform
License code to the platform can be requested at the following link:
https://lib.semmelweis.hu/amboss_registration
To register with the license code, please follow the url below:
English platform
German platform
Journal package of 34 full-text journals of American Chemical Society.
Patological atlas collection which contains histological atlases with high resolution images. Images are available after free registration.
This bibliographic database indexes articles of many Hungarian medical journals.
BioMed Central is a UK based publisher of more than 200 fully open access journals
Open archive of the life sciencee, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for scientists to upload working papers, un published preprints.
The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families.
Full text journals of BMJ publisher can be found in our online journals catalog.
Users can find over 50 journals of Cambridge University Press with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online journals catalog.
the database helps in product development, it contains data on 4.5 million preparations based on patents, journals and product descriptions - including data on medicines, cosmetics and chemicals.
Registration process
Registration process
This database was designed to collect official information about Hungarian companies. It is possible to search for and access a certain Hungarian company's certificate of incorporation, balance sheet, income statement
ChemRxiv is a free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. It gives researchers across a broad range of chemistry fields the opportunity to share early results with colleagues and respond to comments and recommendations for improvement, ahead of formal peer review and publication.
Free Chemistry database containing the structure and description of more than a million compounds. You can browse these compounds with the help of a versatile search function, and with the built-in drawing software you are able to access self-drawn structures. The database comes with community features that allow collaboration with other professionals.
Cummulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides full-text access to many scholary journals and books on the field of nursing and related health professions.
Though Web of Knowledge platform users can search almost every bibliographic and citation indexes of Clarivate Analytics, for example the followings: Book Citation Index, BIOSIS Citation Index, Chinese Science Citation Database, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index.
It's an Elsevier solution for searching medical and nursing literature. This database contains more than 1000 textbooks and reference works and more than 600 journals with full text. It also contains drug informations, videos, pictures, guides and patient's leaflets. To use this database it is required to register and to have an individual account.
ClinicalTrials.gov database provides information on publicly and privatley supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine. There are more than 200 000 studies available in the database, from 193 countries.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews database collection provides full-text access to evidence based reviews, controlled clinical trials, protocols and guidelines.
CogPrints, a freely accessible electronic archive for self-archive papers in many area of Psychology, Neuroscience.
This freely accessible database provides information about the accessible databases and journal packages at many Hungarian institutions.
This is a searching platform to find legally open accessible scientific contents in any scientific field. This platform aggregates many institutional repositories and preprint servers and publishers' sites as well.
The database was designed to collect and display information on somatic mutations in cancer. It was launched in 2004, and it is updated once every three months.
Within this database it is possible to search nearly 900 000 freely accessible dissertation and theses with full text from almost 30 European countries.
Users can find full-text journals of DeGuryter. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online journals catalog.
Dermatology information service offers elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports and additional information on almost all skin diseases.
Free database that is indexing open access books from all area of science.
Free database that is indexing open access journals from all area of science.
This site is capable to search for text matching between the uploaded text and those that are freely available on the internet. Maximum 1000 words limit per search. Without free registration users are allowed to do 1 search per day, registered users can do 50 searches a day.
This EBSCO service offers the possiblity to search at once within almost all online resource subscribed by the Central Library.
The educational science-pedagogy database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
The biomedical database contains resources primarily for use in drug discovery. As part of the service, indexed data from 8,000 journals and additional conference publications are also available.
This is a citation manager system, that allows you to import bibliographic informations of documents from several databases, and makes it easy to create from the collected informations a reference list in several citation format. It has a specific add-on function to office program, that allows you to paste the references in to the manuscript easily.
ESI helps to determine the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in 22 fields of study and emerging research areas as well. Science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Clarivate Analytics (formerly: Thomson Reuters) databases. The content of the database is refreshed every two months from Web of Science Core Collection SCIE and SSCI sources.
The European Pharmacopoeia is a single reference work for the quality control of medicines in the signatory states of the Convention on its elaboration. The official standards published within provide a legal and scientific basis for quality control during the development, production and marketing processes.
Attention! Registration with Semmelweis University e-mail address is needed to use this database. Please send your request to ejournals@semmelweis.hu .
Attention! Registration with Semmelweis University e-mail address is needed to use this database. Please send your request to ejournals@semmelweis.hu .
On this site you can find various statistics on the European Union's public health.
More than 900 history and social science publications are available in the database, which covers the majority of books published by Gondolat Kiadó since 1990.
The continuously growing library contains more than 400 Hungarian-language manuals, technical books and textbooks of higher education with full text. On the interface, publications are in searchable, individually annotated, referential form.
This public drug database contains all medicinal product that has marketing authorisation in Hungary. The revoked medicinal products can be also found in this database. It is possible to search by product name or active substance as well. The patient information leaflet and the summary of product characteristics can be downloaded freely (only in Hungarian), the database also contains photographs of the packing and of the medicinal product itself.
Bibliographic database of Hungarian Scientific Works.
This is a Scientometric database, that is capable to create summarizing charts, diagrams about collaborations and scientific out-put of a country, institution in general or whitin a specific discipline. InCites' data are based on Web of Science Core Collection data. To use this database it is required to register and to have an individual account.
This database contains the official impact factors of scholar journals calculated annually by Clarivate Analytics (formerly: Thomson Reuters).
JoVE is a scientific video database contains many peer-reviewed, video demonstrations of experiments with a detailed text protocol.
JoVE is a scientific video database contains many peer-reviewed, video demonstrations of experiments with a detailed text protocol.
JoVE is a scientific video database contains many peer-reviewed, video demonstrations of experiments with a detailed text protocol.
JoVE is a scientific video database contains many peer-reviewed, video demonstrations of experiments with a detailed text protocol.
For the Web of Science subscribers it is available to access freely the Korean Journal Database. This indexes scientific publications of all fields of science from South Korea.
On OVID SP platform users can find over 1000 books with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online book catalog.
On OVID SP platform users can find over 200 journals with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online journals catalog.
This database provides a detailed, schematic overview of the expression and roles of different immunological, metabolic, vascular and erythrocytic factors during blood-stage malaria infection in both patients and in mouse models infected with rodent malaria parasites. The data are classified into three different databases: Human data, Mouse expression data, Mouse treatment data.
This database indexes the table of contents of many Hungarian scientific journals.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus is updated daily.
MICROMEDEX is a full-text database. Basically contains medical and pharmacological topics, but biologists and chemists can also find many useful resources in it. An English language medical database collection providing wide range of information: pharmacology and toxicology, emergency care, patient information, alternative medicine.
This database of Natrue Publishing Group indexes 68 high-quality journals that was choosen by researchers and provides it's scientometric ranking. You can search in the database for countries and organisations data as well, and it is also possible to examine the collaborations between them. The database is updated monthly.
Open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It provides sources from the early 20th centrury to the present from all around the world. Citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
OpenDOAR is a directory of academic open access repositories. It provides; simple repository list, search for repositories and search for repository contents also.
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images.
This is a searching platform of preprint servers that contains many legally open accessible scientific contents in any of the scientific fields.
Users can find over 1000 Osiris ebooks with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online book catalog.
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5 600 journals published world-wide. Records start in the early 1800's and go all the way to our daily updates.
The scientific journals of Oxford University Press can be found with the full text though our online journals catalog.
Physiopedia is an encyclopaedic reference database which support primarily phyisiotherapist in their daily practice. The articles contain theoretical knowledge and practical advices as well. Video illustrations help the application of techniques. The reference database is freely available, however the access to additional services are not covered.
On this site it is possible to search for text matching between the uploaded text and those that are freely available on the internet. Maximum 5000 characters limit per search.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
This database indexes and provides full-text access to thousands of scholar journals and more than hundred books. Titles related to life sciences can be found in our online journals and ebooks catalogs.
Open Access preprint archive for psychological sciences papers. The service allows scholars to post documents such as working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review (preprints), making them accessible to the public at no cost. Documents can be uploaded according to the copyrights held by the publisher.
It contains bibliographic descriptions, summaries and of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations from the field of psychology and related sciences (psychiatry, neurology, sociology, speech-language therapy etc.) from 1806.
PubChem is a free access database that is organized into 3 databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
Reaxys is a comprehensive database of chemistry literature that contains and allows to search descriptions of chemical reactions (even multi-step reactions) and descriptions of structures' and elements' physical properties, synthesis possibilities.
For the Web of Science subscribers it is available to access freely the Russian Science Citation Index. The database provides bibliographic information about russian researchers’ scientific publications, for example from the fields of medicine and technology, the coverage of the index begin with 2005. It is possible to search for articles in English and in Russian as well.
For the Web of Science subscribers it is available to access freely the SciELO Citation Index.
It indexes scientific publications of all fields of science from Latin America, Spain, Protugal, the Caribbean and South Africa. Every record contains the URL pointing to the full text article.
Searching platform of legally open access contents, that encourages researchers to register a profile and sharing expertise through Public Post-Publication Peer Review.
On this platform of Elsevier users can find over 2000 journals with full-text. Titles related to life sciences can be found in our online journals catalog.
On ScienceDirect platform users can find over 100 Elsevier books with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online book catalog.
It is a comprehensive database of chemistry literature that contains and allows to search descriptions of chemical reactions (even multi-step reactions) and descriptions of structures' and elements' physical properties, synthesis possibilities. It also contains lots of patents, that can be searched deeply and easily.
Registration process
Registration process
The SCImago Journal and Country Rank is a scientometric database that includes journals and countries scientific indicators. The SCImago Journal Rank indicator is developed from the information contained in the Scopus database from 1996.
SciVal is a Scientometric database, that is capable to create summarizing charts, diagrams about collaborations and scientific out-put of a country, institution in general or whitin a specific discipline. SciVal's data are based on Scopus data. To use this database it is required to register and to have an individual account.
Multidisciplinar bibliographic database provided by Elsevier, that indexes thousands of scholar journals since 1823. Records can be retrieved with versatile search options. The content of the database is refreshed daily.
Open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers.
Users can find over 700 Springer ebooks with full-text. Titles that are accessible can be found in our online book catalog.
On this platform of Springer users can find over 1500 journals with full-text. Titles related to life sciences can be found in our online journals catalog.
This repository collects electronic, open access full texts from the field social sciences. Recently more than 34 000 documents can be found in it.
This site developed by SZTAKI is capable to match texts and find simiarity between the uploaded text and those that are freely available on the internet, especially like the Wikipedia. Registered users can launch 10 plagiarism search per day or per month free of charge.
Open archive of the graduate and undergraduate theses and dissertations from any discipline, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for scientists to upload their papers.
TOXNET is a group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology. More information about the databases can be found here: https://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/help/newtoxnet/toxnetfs.html
Trip (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Primary indexing sources of evidence based medicine, as case studies, evidence-based synopsis, guidelines, key-primary research, clinical Q&A, evidence based reviews, clinical questions and answers. It is a non-full text database. Only those content can be accessed with full text through it that is Open Access or to which the institution is subscribed.
This system makes it possible to check manuscripts and thesis to prevent plagiarism. It also makes possible for teachers to evaluate the students writing skills. This system compares the uploaded manuscript with other previously uploaded manuscripts and free online resources and scientific journals content and creates a report about the similarities.
Attention!
Registration is necessary in order to use Turnitin, which can be requested by writing an email to ejournals@semmelweis.hu. Registration can be requested at organizational unit level, for instructors.
Attention!
Registration is necessary in order to use Turnitin, which can be requested by writing an email to ejournals@semmelweis.hu. Registration can be requested at organizational unit level, for instructors.
This platform offers opportunity to search in several Hungarian Repository in one time.
The database provides up-to-date answers and specific suggestions to clinical questions and specific treatment recommendations for given diseases based on evidence based articles that are composed and peer reviewed by specialists, who are experts in their respective research area to answer the clinicians’ questions, and help their work.
The USP–NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). It contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. To access this you will need the Username/Password, that can be found on our website.
Visible Body is an interactive database, that covers the fields of human anatomy and physiology, contains animations, 3D models with descriptions to introduce the muscles, the human skeleton, the nervous and the circulatory system, and the basic physiological processes. Visible Body also contains quizzes to supports learning of human physiology.
Access requires registration from a university email address. To maintain active status, users must log in every 150 days by connecting from the university network.
Access requires registration from a university email address. To maintain active status, users must log in every 150 days by connecting from the university network.
Law information database that contains:- laws (statutes, decrees)- other means of law (resolutions, commissions, guidelines, informatories)- other law documents (announcements, publishers' commentaries)- court decisionsMost important sources of the database are Hungarian Official Journal, Official Bulletin, portfolio bulletins, court publications.
Multidisciplinar bibliographic database provided by Clarivate Analytics (formerly: Thomson Reuters), that indexes thousands of scholar journals since 1975. Records can be retrieved with versatile search options. The content of the database is refreshed every (working) day.
The scientific journals of Wiley-Blackwell can be found with the full text though our online journals catalog.
The World Biographical Information System (WBIS Online) is a comprehensive biographical database available. It is based on the digitization of K.G. Saur's microfiche editions of Biographical Archives. Each Biographical Archive covers a different language and cultural area. WBIS Online offers worldwide biographical information on persons covered in reference sources published from the 16th century to the end of the 20th century.